

Website: www.toprecng.org. Email: info@toprecng.org

HEAD OFFICE: No. 7, Ben Ndi Obi Street **Off Amenyo Adadevoh Road** Jahi District Abuja P.M.B. 7012, Garki – Abuja Tel: 0803 256 7343

LAGOS OFFICE: Federal Ministry of Lands, **Housing & Urban Development** 7, Harvey Road, Yaba, Lagos Box 54673, Falomo, Ikoyi Lagos Tel: 0802 327 8483

REF:TOPREC/EDT/VOL.1/001

May 22, 2025

All Urban and Regional Planning Departments **Distinguished Registered Town Planners**

RE: STOPPAGE OF MULTIPLE ACCREDITATION OF ACADEMIC PROGRAMMES BY PROFESSIONAL BODIES IN NIGERIAN UNIVERSITIES

I have the directive of the President of TOPREC, TPL I. M. Kura fnitp to write on behalf of the Town Planners Registration Council of Nigeria (TOPREC), to express his appreciation and that of the Council to the town planning family and other relevant stakeholders for their concerns on the circular dated 20 May, 2025 issued by the National Universities Commission (NUC) in respect to the above subject matter, the contents of which are against the established legal framework governing the accreditation of Town Planning programmes in Nigerian tertiary institutions. The Town Planners Registration Council is the statutory body recognized by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to regulate the education, training and practice of Town Planning in all its ramifications in Nigeria.

Please be assured that the Council is taking immediate actions in accordance with the Town Planners (Registration, etc.) Act, CAP T7, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria 2004.

The Council remains committed to upholding the highest standards of professional Town Planning education and practice in Nigeria and will continue to work tirelessly to ensure that the legal framework governing the profession is respected and implemented at all times by all stakeholders in both the public and private sectors. Further developments will be communicated as they unfold.

Yours faithfully, For: TOWN PLANNERS REGISTRATION COUNCIL

TPL Uhiere S. Abayomi Fnitp Ag. Registrar

PRESIDENT TPL Isyaku M. Kura fnitp

VICE-PRESIDENT TPL. Ezekiel O. Gunn fnitp

Ag.REGISTRAR. TPL. Uhiere S. Abayomi fnitp